BizNis Africa
Latest News
AfDB and AIMS to transform industry-led research in Africa
The African Development Bank and the African Institute of...
ATNS Executives attend 59th ACI Africa Regional Conference in Nigeria
Air Traffic and Navigation Services (ATNS) SOC Limited is...
Melville Douglas appoints Paolo Senatore as Global Strategist
Melville Douglas, a boutique investment management company has appointment...
Vodacom provides over 80% 4G coverage in South Africa
Vodacom has become the first African mobile network to...
Malawi Stock Exchange to launch new Automated Trading System
The Malawi Stock Exchange, in conjunction with the Reserve...
National Oil Corporation to list on Nairobi and London Stock Exchanges
Besides the meeting, trade and diplomacy, security and regional...
Pick n Pay Group’s Africa operations contribute ZAR4.6 billion
Pick n Pay today, 19 April 2018, published its...
Alpha Investment Group invests ZAR400 million in KidZania
Alpha Investment Group (Alpha), a 100% black-owned investment holding company, is...
How fintech transforms banking industry across Africa
The FinTech space in Africa is witnessing rapid growth...
How to promote economic growth in South Africa’s emerging tech industry
Despite decades of progress towards achieving equality in the...

2018 WesBank South African Car Of The Year is the Porsche Panamera

The  German manufacturer, Porsche, took the top honours when the Panamera was crowned the 2018 WesBank South African Car Of The Year (COTY) winner at a cocktail dinner. 
The South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ) also recognises the Volvo S90 as first runner up, as well as the Alfa Romeo Giulia as second runner up in this year’s competition. 
“We’re proud of our long-standing partnership with the SA Guild of Motoring Journalists, who deliver the SA Car of the Year. It is an industry award that has become the barometer for excellence, by recognising cars that set new benchmarks in their segments as well as the motoring world,” said Chris de Kock, WesBank Chief Executive Officer.

“Each of the finalists in the 2018 WesBank South African Car of the Year competition represent that excellence, and the Guild had an unenviable job in choosing a single worthy winner.” 

Top winners

BMW has won the SA Car Of The Year title a record six times (1988, 1990, 1993, 1997, 2001 and 2011).

Audi and Volkswagen have both won the SA Car Of The Year title three times, with Honda, Renault, Toyota and Volvo taking the crown twice.

Alfa Romeo, Ford, Hyundai, Mazda, Mercedes-Benz, and Nissan have won the title once each.

Opel is the only manufacturer whom has won the SA Car Of The Year title for two consecutive years, and has ultimately won the competition four times.

Porsche is the only manufacturer to win the title for three consecutive years, and has won the competition four times.

WesBank South African Car Of The Year competition past winners:

1986   Toyota Corolla Twin Cam

1987   Mercedes-Benz 260E

1988   BMW 735i

1989   Toyota Corolla GLi Executive

1990   BMW 525i

1991   Opel Monza 160 GSi

1992   Nissan Maxima 300 SE

1993   BMW 316i

1994   Opel Kadett 140

1995   Opel Astra 160iS

1996   Audi A4 1.8

1997   BMW 528i

1998   Ford Fiesta Fun

1999   Alfa Romeo 156 T-Spark

2000   Renault Clio 1.4 RT

2001   BMW 320d

2002   Audi A4 1.9 TDI

2003   Volkswagen Polo TDI

2004   Renault Mégane 1.9 dCi

2005   Volvo S40 2.4i

2006   Audi A3 Sportback 2.0T

2007   Honda Civic 1.8 VXi Sedan

2008   Mazda2 1.5 Individual

2009   Honda Accord 2.4 Executive

2010   Volkswagen Golf 6 1.4 TSI

2011   BMW 530d and Volkswagen Polo 1.6 TDI

2012   Hyundai Elantra 1.8 GLS Executive

2013   Porsche Boxster

2014   Porsche Cayman S

2015   Porsche Macan Diesel S

2016   Volvo XC90

2017    Opel Astra

2018   Porsche Panamera

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: