Khune scoops SA Sports Awards top accolade


All roads led to the North West province, South Africa on 17 November 2013, as sporting greats, state sporting officials and guests made their way to the Sun City Resort for the 2013 South African Sports Awards.

Glitz and glamour were the order of the day at the Sun City Superbowl.

Kaizer Chiefs and Bafana Bafana captain Itumeleng Khune walked away with the overall Sports Star of the Year Award, a whopping cash prize of R1 million and a brand new BMW. He will donate R500 000 of his winnings to Lechelemane Primary school.

Khune outshone swimming star Chad Le Clos, cricketer Hashim Amla, wheelchair tennis player Lucas Sithole and athlete Mapaseka Makhanya for the ultimate win.

The SA Sports Awards ceremony was held by the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC), together with the Department of Sport and Recreation South Africa (SRSA), and presented by SABC Sport.

The aim of the Sports Awards is to honour and highlight South Africa’s sports stars for their efforts in keeping the passion of sport alive in the hearts of millions of South Africans, through local or international sport, between 1 November and 31 October each year.

The evening was a great success with local music talents Khuli Chana, Mafikizolo, Zahara, Karen Zoid, ChianoSky and the Mzansi Youth Choir taking centre stage.

The 2013 SA Sports Awards Winner are:

– Administrator of the year: Mimi Mthethwa

– Sportsman of the Year: Cameron Van Der Burgh

– Sportsman of the Year with Disability: Lucas Sithole

– Sportswoman of the Year: Mapaseka Makhanya

– Sportswoman of the Year with Disability: Kgothatso Montjane

– Team of the Year: The Proteas

– Newcomer of the Year: Thato Tsomole

– Coach of the Year: Holger Losch

– Volunteer of the Year: Zakes Mkhize

– Indigenous Games of the Year: Simphiwe Maphumulo

– Photographer of the Year: Wessel Oosthuizen

– Journalist of the Year: Ramatsiyi Moholoa

– School Team of the Year: Sol Plaatje High School

– Developing School Team of the Year: Daniye Primary School

– Federation of the Year: Cycling SA, SA Hockey and Swimming SA

– Recreational Bodies: 702 Walk the Talk

– Steve Tshwete Lifetime Achievement Award: Hajera Kajee, Mvuzo Mbebe, Kaizer Motaung, Leepile Taunyaneand Betty Magwaza

Addressing the gathering, Sports and Recreation Minister Fikile Mbalula said it had been a great sporting year for South Africa’s sportsmen and women both locally and internationally.


About Author

Leave A Reply