African Leadership Magazine Persons of the Year 2017 Winners announced


The African Leadership Magazine Persons of the Year Awards committee has unveiled the winners for different categories in the just concluded polls for the African Leadership Magazine Persons of the Year Awards 2017.

The winners who shall be decorated on 24 February 2018 in Johannesburg, South Africa, were unveiled by the Publisher of the Magazine Dr Ken Giami, at the UK Head Office of the group, after the awards committee working with the editorial team concluded the collation of both online and offline votes and submissions from the over 1 million subscribers base of the publication.

The winners are:

African of the Year 2017

Paul Kagame, President of Rwanda – Winner

African Female Leader of the Year 2017

Bethlehem Tilahum Alemu, Founder soleRebels, Ethiopia – Co-Winner
Susan Mashibe, Executive Director, Tanjet Aviation, Tanzania – Co-Winner

ALM Person of the Year 2017-Educational Development

Strive Masayiwa, Founder Econet, Zimbabwe – Winner

ALM Person of the Year 2017 – Employment Generation

Kwame Nana Bediako, President, Founder & CEO, Petronia Ghana – Winner

ALM Person of the Year 2017 – Political Leadership

Marc Ravalomanana, Former President of Madagascar – Winner

ALM Person of the Year 2017 – Philanthropy and Charitable Contributions to Society

Manu Chandaria, Chairman, Comcraft Group, Kenya – Winner

ALM Young Person of the Year 2017

Joel Macharia, Founder and CEO, Abacus Kenya- Winner

African Leadership Magazine Persons of the Year awards total online votes cast by Africans from all around the world jumped to 288 958 from 85 000 in 2017 and offline submissions by over 400%.

A special Commendation citation shall be presented to the most distinguished runners up, including Linah Mohohlo, Bank of Botswana Governor and Fred Swaniker, African Leadership Academy South Africa and African Leadership University Mauritius Founder and Tony Elumelu, Heirs Holdings Nigeria Chairman.

“To be chosen out of the over 1.2 billion people on the continent, speaks volumes.” He further stated that,” the nominees have elevated and redefined benchmarks of service to the humanity on the continent. They are all true lovers of Africa, contributing passionately, sometimes imperfectly, but all determined to impacting society, making Africa a better place for its people,” says Ken Giami, African Leadership Magazine Publisher. 

Past recipients of the African Person of the Year Awards have included Mo Ibrahim,Ibrahim Prize for Leadership Founder in 2010; Liberia President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf in 2011; Atiku Abubakar, Former Vice President of Nigeria in 2012; Xavier Luc-Duval, Deputy Prime Minister of Mauritius and Minister of Finance in 2013; President Jakaya Kikwete, Former President of Tanzania in 2014; President Goodluck Jonathan, Former president of Nigeria in 2015; Mo Dewji, MeTL Tanzania CEO in 2016.


About Author

Bontle Moeng is the Founder and Managing Director of BizNis Africa. Moeng has spent 16 years working in the digital and online media industry across Africa. She applied her trade at True Love magazine prior to discovering her passion for Investment news in key sectors across Africa. Moeng previously worked for ITWeb, Starfish Mobile Technologies, ITNewsAfrica, AVATAR Agency, eNitiate, Global Interface Consulting and Havas Johannesburg. Her primary focus is to provide solid and valuable content on investment opportunities for the ICT, Energy and Mining sectors across Africa. In addition, the online news publication assists global companies to expand their presence in Africa. Email:

Leave A Reply